How to Keep Your Camera From Tracking Your Location on iPhone

Having a difficult time remembering where that picture from your spontaneous trip to the beach was taken? Or at what time you captured that beautiful sunset? The great thing about geotagging on iPhone is that you’ll never be left wondering when or where a particular photo was taken again—but for many, that might not be such a good thing. If revealing your location is a concern, you can easily turn this feature off. Here’s how to keep your camera from tracking your location on iPhone.

Related: How to Turn On Location Services Only While an App Is in Use

Master your iPhone in one minute a day:

Sign up to iPhone Life's Tip of the Day Newsletter and we'll send you a tip each day to save time and get the most out of your iPhone or iPad.

How to Keep Your Camera From Tracking Your Location on iPhone

  • Open the Settings app.

  • Tap Privacy.

  • Select Location Services.

  • Here, you have the ability to turn off all location services at once by toggling off Location Services. But you don’t want to do that if you use Location Services in other apps such as Maps.

  • If you just want to disable geotagging from specific apps—like your Camera and other photo-taking apps—select them individually.

  • Then select Never to have them never track your location.

Top image credit: Ellica / Shutterstock.com

Master your iPhone in one minute a day: Sign up here to get our FREE Tip of the Day delivered right to your inbox.

Rheanne Taylor is the associate editor of iPhone Life magazine. In her spare time Rheanne is an avid iPhoneographer who loves trying out the latest apps and gadgets for her iPhone camera. She recently graduated with her BA in literature and writing from Maharishi University of Management in Fairfield, Iowa.